A Game of Tag and Turtles

Standard

This has been one of those weeks where I have been so busy that I have barely had time to think. Between my regular job, a deadline for a new writing gig I have landed (I will share details on that later), and the midnight premiere of The Hunger Games, I never had time to prepare a mash-up for today. I was going to find time to put one together and just post it much later when I received a message that I had been tagged by Lisa Hall-Wilson over at the blog she shares with Marcy Kennedy, Girls with Pens. Curious, I went to check it out and found that Lisa had tagged me in something called Lucky 7 Meme. Here are the rules:

- Go to page 77 of your current MS or WIP

- Go to line 7

- Copy down the next 7 lines, sentences, or paragraphs, and post them as they are written

- Tag 7 new authors

This sounded like fun, so I pulled out my WIP. Here is the excerpt I found on page 77 of my  fantasy novel, A Pristine Heart.

Rhoswen smiled back at her. “Now that you are assured your friend is unharmed,” she said turning to Reeve, “would you mind dressing the wound you gave me?”

Reeve immediately set to work. While he was working Kaelyn tried to sort through the foggy events of Rhoswen’s attack. There was something she felt sure had caught her attention during the time she was waking up, but it remained elusive. Suddenly she remembered.

“Do you two know each other?” 

Reeve’s back stiffened at her words and his head snapped to look at her. 

“Yes,” Rhoswen answered first. “We Galdors know all the –”

“Hunters,” Reeve finished, interrupting her; Rhoswen looked at him in surprise, but did not say anything else. “What made you ask that?”

“Just something I remembered from when I was waking up.”

There you go. I hope that you enjoyed that small excerpt. It is now my turn to tag 7 others, so here goes.

Karen Rought

Ginger Calem

Myndi Shafer

Jessica Salyer

Natalie Hartford

Fabio Bueno

Emma Burcart

Finally, I have a new vlog to share with you guys in which I discuss some very disturbing changes being made to a favorite childhood cartoon.

http://www.hypable.com/2012/03/18/michael-bay-drops-huge-bombshell-about-latest-teenage-mutant-ninja-turtles-film/

http://www.hypable.com/2012/03/20/michael-bay-comments-on-ninja-turtle-upset-fans-need-to-take-a-breath-and-chill/

13 responses »

  1. On no, No, no, no. That’s just so wrong. I loved the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles growing up. They don’t need a richer world or a different back story. It was good the way it was! I’m very concerned because you’re right–if they don’t include Splinter, it’s not worth watching.

    Loved getting a sneak peak at your WIP though :)

  2. Yeah, that is totally wrong! What part of mutant does he not understand? That would be like saying the X-Men were all aliens. I also LOVED TMNT growing up. I was definitely an action cartoon fan. Which is why I normally like the Michael Bay type movies. Although, I have to say by the third Transformers movie I was a little put off. I hope somebody stops him before he ruins the Turtles. Ok, now I have the theme song stuck in my head. :) Thanks for tagging me. It was fun to read your excerpt, but I think it’s a little scary to just put it out there for the world to see. I’ll have to take a deep breath.

    • Exactly!! The X-Men comparison is perfect. I’m so glad to find others are just as outraged as me.

      Yes, it’s very scary. That’s why I did it so quickly – before I had a chance to talk myself out of it. Of course, as soon as I hit publish I very nearly had a panic attack. Lol

  3. It reminds of when they retconned the Highlander myth in Highlander 2, ruining the franchise. Why mess with something that works? I’m not a TMNT fan, but that’s just wrong.
    Thank you so much for the tag, Jessica! But it’s scary to put your WIP out there, isn’t it?
    Your excerpt is so intriguing. Can’t wait to read it all.

    • Thank you, Fabio! That means so much. It really is scary, which is another reason why I opted to do it this week before I had time to think about it and chicken out. And yeah, so not cool about the turtles.

  4. Thank you!! I was SO hoping that I would get tagged for this. It sounds super fun. (And I’m not going to comment here about what I think of TMNT, because I already did so on YouTube!)

  5. Pingback: I’ve been Triple-Tagged — so here goes! « Ginger Calem

  6. Pingback: The “Lucky” 7 Meme And Me « Fabio Bueno

  7. Pingback: Lucky Number Seven « The Midnight Novelist

Leave a Reply

