Dreams Really Do Come True

Standard

Hey everyone! I have two fun things to share with you guys. In several blog posts I have hinted at some new writing responsibilities. Well, the time has finally come where I can share what they are.

As you probably know, one of my favorite websites is Hypable.com. Their motto is “by fans, for fans” and that is really accurate. They cover a TON of different fandoms, most of which are ones that I love. Back in September of last year I applied to be a co-host on a Hypable podcast all about one of my favorite TV shows, Glee. When I actually got selected it was an absolute dream come true. I suddenly found myself, however peripherally, involved with the people responsible for TWO of my favorite websites (the creators of Hypable had also run MuggleNet.com, which I visited multiple times a day, every day, for about 7 years).

Fast forward to a little over a month ago. An announcemet was made on the site that they were going to be expanding the site to include “fandom hubs,” which would be hubs for encyclopedic type information on specific fandoms they covered, and they were looking for content writers. I really didn’t have the time, but I didn’t care and applied for it anyway. Two weeks later I got an email that I got the job. They chose me to be one of two content writers for Glee. That’s right, I am now an official member of the very talented writing staff at Hypable.com. Goodness, that still sounds so weird to say.

Late last night Hypable launched their new design, complete with the new fandom hubs. All the content that I spent many, many hours putting together (I did the episode and songs guides for seasons 1, 2, & 3, the information on future seasons, and the cast list)  is now available AND I have a bio on their staff page! Insanity!

Okay, my excited rambling is now finished. :)

The other thing I have to share is my latest vlog. I am joined by my best friend who helps me sing the song ‘For Good’ from the Broadway musical Wicked. I hope you enjoy it.

19 responses »

  1. Isn’t it so great to see your name on their staff page? I’m still in awe! I had such trouble writing mine, lol. But the hub for Glee is phenomenal. Excellent, excellent job!

  2. Three cheers! Hip Hip Hooray!
    1) for the song,
    2) for your new staff page/post,
    3) for allowing us to share this joy with you.

    YAY, Jess! :-D

  3. How exciting! Congratulations on the gig. I imagine it must be an amazing thing to see your name on something as big as that! And the song was beautiful. I got chills. It was cute to see you and your Bestie together. I feel like I get to know you a little more with every vlog I watch.

Leave a Reply

