MASH-UP: Men, TV, Odd Fashion, and More

Standard

I have lots to share with you guys today. First, in case you missed it, on Monday I did a guest post over at the always fabulous Natalie Hartford’s blog. I discuss the rather severe culture shock I faced when I was suddenly thrust into the realm of male sex after I started dating my husband. My innocent little self didn’t know how to handle the truth about boys.

Okay, and now I have a short little mash-up of awesome blogs for you to check out.

Meet Little Miss Took by Myndi Shafer: Myndi shares pictures of the newest addition to her family. Her little miss took is adorable. :)

Word Wisdom: Phrases I’ve Misinterpreted by Karen Rought: This post had me laughing so much as Karen shares five common phrases that never made sense to her because she was hearing them incorrectly. Something I am sure we can all relate to.

Farewell, Firefly: 5 TV shows gone too soon by Fabio Bueno: This post had me sold when I saw that the first show Fabio listed was Pushing Daises. I adored that show and was so sad when it went away.

The 6 Strangest Fashion Trends in History by Colin Falconer: This post is from last week, but I just saw it so it is getting included now. Colin found some hilarious fashion trends from the past, including a codpiece. Yep, you read that correctly.

And finally, here is my latest vlog. This week I give my reaction to the synopsis that was just released for JK Rowling’s new book, The Casual Vacancy, which will be released on September 27, 2012.

http://www.hypable.com/2012/04/12/j-k-rowling-announces-title-release-date-for-new-book/

10 responses »

  1. I can’t believe I missed a post about fashion! I’m going to check that out right away. And thanks for the info about the JK Rowling book. I find it surprising, too, because it doesn’t sound like the type of book I will like, either. I’ll wait to see what others say about it before I make the decision to read it.

    • Yeah, I am betting there will be a lot of people who feel similarly with such a drastic shift in genre. I will be very curious to see what the reaction is once the book finally comes out. I plan on reading it and writing my review before I look at what anyone else says so that I am not influenced.

  2. Thanks for including me in this mashup, Jessica!
    I can’t wait for JK’s new book! I have no idea why, but the first part of the synopsis reminded me of the movie “Hot Fuzz” :-) “An idyllic British hamlet holds a secret…”
    Anyway, September 27th should be a national holiday.

  3. I feel torn after hearing the synopsis. The plotline doesn’t jump out to me as immediately interesting. Like you said, if it was written by anyone else, I wouldn’t even give it a second look. But it’s J.K. Rowling, and she did always add a wonderful element of mystery and suspense to all the Harry Potter books. I’ll probably read the first chapter online (assuming they release it) and see if I’m drawn in before I decide whether or not to buy it. I really hope you review it.

    • You can count on me reviewing it. I plan on getting it the day it comes out and reading it straight away so I can post my review that following Monday. I am going to avoid other reviews as much as possible so that I can really figure out how I feel about it without being influenced by others and the hype of JK Rowling’s name.

  4. Pingback: A Cover Revealed « Jessica Chapman

Leave a Reply

